Friday June 29

Well, today is our last day at Ndejje University! This morning we had the opportunity to explore what the germans have been working on here at the university. Burning charcoal is very popular here. As I have learned, charcoal comes from the trees here, which eventually could result in deforestation. So, the Germans came here and started this 3 year project (that recently started I believe last October) where they make corn cobs into charcoal. I don’t quit remember all of the logistics of it because while he was explaining it to us, I became very dizzy so had to step out a few times (I was very dehydrated this morning).

Later in the afternoon, we all met up at one of the local bars in the trading center to all celebrate the friendships we have made, so a bunch of students from Ndejje showed up along with our two professors who brought us here. It was such a fun last time to get together and hang out with everyone before leaving in the morning!

I really am going to miss Ndejje. I have made so many friendships and have learned so much these past 4 weeks here. My favorite thing about traveling is meeting new people and the students/faculty here have really set the bar high with their hospitality, kindness, and friendliness. This is definitely a place I will never forget (especially the many tall hills we have had to climb each day 😅).

Here’s a pic of me and one of the friends I made, Rajab. Fun fact: he is 7 feet tall and plays volleyball here at Ndejje!

Leave a comment