Thursday June 28

Today was a very sad day..

It’s not over yet but this morning the faculty threw us a farewell celebration which was so nice but sad at the same time. Everyone there has impacted my trip and experience here. One of my really good friends from my group, Monica, had to leave today so it was the last time I saw her. She has made such an impact on my life from this trip.

Monica is in my field group, so that is how we met. She is so outgoing and I am outgoing so we hit it off right away. I saw her pretty much everyday while I have been here at Ndejje and she wasn’t just a peer, we actually became really good friends and talked and joked a lot. She loved to play with my hair all the time which obviously I loved so I let her play with it every chance we were together. She has taught me a lot about the culture here and she has taught me some funny words in Luganda also which has become an inside joke between us. One funny thing she taught me and some of the other American students was how to bargain the boda boda drivers because they were overcharging us Americans (not that it was a big deal because 1,000 shillings is like $0.25) so she always had our backs when it came to that. I am going to miss her so so much but I am very thankful to have made such an amazing friend like her while here at Ndejje!

The tears in our eyes show how sad we were šŸ˜…šŸ˜Ŗ:

One thought on “Thursday June 28

Leave a comment