Tuesday July 3

Well this is our last morning in Queen Elizabeth National Park! Boy am I going to miss the views from our room… but definitely not the hike to get down there lol. We started today off by going back out and doing an early morning game drive to try one more time to see some lions and other animals. It was about the same as yesterday except today we got to see an elephant grazing peacefully. After that game drive, we had a long drive to Lake Bunyonyi which is right by the Rwanda border. The place we stayed at was BREATHTAKING. Here is a photo of the lodge I stayed in:

Once we got settled in, we went to the lake and canoed. I know how to canoe, but it was very strange because they didn’t really show everyone how to do it, they just stuck us on the canoes and told us to go! I know some people were frustrated with that because they had no idea what they were doing, so I understand, but even me knowing how to didn’t make a difference because these canoes were so hard to control! Haley, Bri and I were in the same canoe and we had to turn around and attempt to come back because ours started to fill up with water!!! It wasn’t like we were going to sink in seconds, we had time to get back and everything but I am sure glad we made it back before the others.

Now, when I travel, I love to meet new people. We had the opportunity to talk to this couple from the UK while waiting for the others to come back. They were the sweetest young couple. He worked in a private school and she recently quit her job as a designer so they could travel. They have been gone since last August visiting multiple places all over the world!!!! I mean, they had a break and went home for a month but how cool is that?!?! I am so happy we had the opportunity to talk with them and talk about our cultures and the different experiences we have each had.

Leave a comment